Skip to Main Content

Practice Experience

Practice Experience Contacts

If you have questions please reach out to one of the Practice Experience contacts below.

Practice Experience AdministratorAndrew Wymanwymaa@pdx.edu
Director of Applied LearningJamie Jonesjljones@pdx.edu
Biostatistics PE/IP CoordinatorByung Parkparkb@ohsu.edu
Epidemiology PE/IP CoordinatorSarah Siegelsiegels@ohsu.edu
Environmental Systems & Human Health PE/IP CoordinatorTawnya Petersonpetertaw@ohsu.edu
Health Management & Policy PE/IP CoordinatorNeal Wallacenwallace@pdx.edu
Health Promotion PE/IP CoordinatorBradley Wipflibwipfli@pdx.edu
Public Health Practice PE/IP CoordinatorJamie Jonesjljones@pdx.edu

What Is The Practice Experience?

The Practice Experience is intended to provide students with an opportunity to demonstrate and apply their competency-based learning in a practice setting. Therefore, your registration in the Practice Experience must occur towards the end of your time in the MPH degree program. This timing allows you to apply newly gained skills, as well as the opportunity to reflect on your strengths and areas of needed development as you enter the field of public health.

Prerequisites & Planning

BEFORE YOU REGISTER

Learn about how you can prepare for your Practice Experience, eligibility requirements, and important dates and deadlines.

Go To Prerequisites

Find Your Practice Experience

PE OPPORTUNITIES

Recommendations and important information to consider when finding your Practice Experience.

Find PE

PE Requirements

AFTER YOU REGISTER

Information about the requirements for your Practice Experience, deadlines, definition, and important documents for download.

See Requirements

Benefits of the Practice Experience for MPH Students

  • Pivot your learning into practice.
  • Demonstrate competency attainment.
  • Explore work places, which will help you decide where you want (or don’t want) to work
  • Grow your professional network.
  • Lead to paid employment – either at the place of your PE or by the connections made through the program or project you worked on.
  • Cultivate professional references (in addition to MPH Faculty) that will be important for a future job and/or PhD applications.

Become a PE Preceptor

Preceptors provide guidance and mentorship to public health students both at the onset and throughout their applied Practice Experience.

Fill out our form to become a preceptor and host an OHSU-PSU School of Public Health MPH Student.

FILL OUT FORM

Frequently Asked Questions

Find answers to your frequently asked questions about the Practice Experience, and Integrative Project.


See FAQ’s