Oregon Health Sciences University (OHSU) and Portland State University (PSU) School of Public Health

Skip to Main Content


Congratulations to OHSU Distinguished Faculty Award Nominees


From left to right: Kathleen Carlson, Carrie Nielson, Ana Quinones, Liz Waddell, Karen Watanabe

On May 10, OHSU held the annual Distinguished Faculty Awards Ceremony and the School of Public Health participated for the first time. Each school provides nominees and a finalist in one category, which rotates every year. In the category of Outstanding Excellence, the finalists for the award were Assistant Professors Ana Quinones, Liz Waddell and Carrie Nielson, and the winner was Kathleen Carlson. SPH Faculty Senator Karen Watanabe presented at the event.

The Excellence Award recognizes a junior faculty member with ten years of service or less to OHSU, and nominees are evaluated on their last five years of performance with respect to research, teaching, service and collaboration. Interim Dean Elena Andresen was impressed with the work of all the nominees. “They showcased the exceptional strengths and diverse paths of our up and coming faculty. It was a proud day for the School!”